A Self-Help Junkie’s Recommendation

Now, you may not know this about me, but I’m kind of a self-help junkie. I love books on garnering Eternal Enthusiasm for Life(tm) and any book on Writing More and Better(tm). Particularly writing books in general, to the point where I think I’m going to get some kind of educational cavity.

But then along comes a book that I absolutely couldn’t resist and couldn’t put down. I ended up reading the entire thing in about three hours, and then flipping back through to re-read certain parts again. Not since reading Bird By Bird have I felt so wonderful about my chosen profession, and so galvanized to nail down my own dreams.

The book that granted me this bliss was no other than Blue Collar to No Collar by Wayne Stinnett. The guy went from a trucker to a six figure author in two and a half years. Less than three years! Becalm my fluttering heart. His book is one of the most enthusiastic and uplifting things I’ve laid eyes on all year, and he does all that with unstinting humility and a clear and engaging writing style. He talks through being a complete indie writer, how to get an editor and beta readers when you have pretty much no money, and how to keep building a business as an author. The things he has to say aren’t exactly new to me, but it’s good to hear not only the same “the best advertisement for your books is writing more books” but to listen to his personal journey and see how he achieved it himself.

Have I sold you on this yet? Please, if you’re feeling down in the dumps or just about to throw in the towel when it comes to writing (or any creative endeavor, honestly) give this book a gander. It’s cheap on Kindle, and the average price in paperback. Honestly, you won’t regret it and besides – who doesn’t need another enthusiastic self-help book! (Ahem, sorry, that was the junkie speaking.)

You can get the book here.
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

